Anne Moscona, MD


Dr. Anne Moscona is a graduate of Harvard College (B.A., Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) and Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. She is a pediatrician-scientist bridging basic virology with infectious diseases. She is currently the Sherie L. Morrison Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Professor of Pediatrics, and Professor of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics; Director, Center for Host-Pathogen Interaction, at Columbia University Medical Center. Previously she was the division director of infectious diseases and vice chair of Pediatrics at Mount Sinai and then at Weill Cornell Medical College.  Her work is focused on basic research on paramyxoviruses that cause serious and prevalent childhood diseases, and on newly emerging paramyxoviruses that affect humans. Her team investigates common pediatric respiratory viruses (e.g., parainfluenza viruses) as well as emerging lethal viruses and has now turned to helping solve the problem of SARS-CoV-2. The focus of her team’s work is on the mechanisms of viral entry into host cells, in the initial stages of infection, and strategies for interfering with entry and infection. Dr. Moscona’s work, which over the last 20 years is collaborative with Matteo Porotto, has been continuously NIH funded for over 30 years.

She is the President Elect of the American Society for Virology, a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology; Member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation (ASCI); Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society; Society for Pediatric Research. She is on the Board of Editors of mBio, is an Associate Editor, American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care, and on the Board of Editors, Journal of Virology. She has served on many foundation and NIH grant review committees, including the March of Dimes Research Grants Review Committee; Burroughs Wellcome Fund Infectious Disease Award Advisory Committee (2006-2014); and National Institutes of Health (NIAID) Virology A grant review committee (2014-present). She is a Consultant on the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Board of Scientific Counselors (BSC); and was elected the Councilor for Medical Virology, American Society for Virology (2019-present).

More team members

Andrew Fradkin, JD
General Counsel
Walter Greenblatt, MBA
Chief Financial Officer
Mike McGinnis, MS, MBA
Head of Government Relations
Ruth Karron, MD
Matteo Porotto, PhD
Elma Hawkins, PhD, MBA
Chairwoman of the Board
Fred Hayden, MD
Joan Fusco, PhD
Chief Development Officer
Tom Monath, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Sean Whelan, PhD
Allen Duplantier, PhD
Principal investigator
Daniel Graifman, MBA